My sister-in-law, bless her, makes her own homemade Limoncello. Something to do with alcohol, lemons and a back porch – I don’t want to know. What I do know is that she gives it away generously and it is delicious.

I’m really not much of a drinker (I’d rather “spend” the calories on food) and so I have developed a little drinkie recipe with the Limoncello that allows me to hang on to my glass, sipping, for a good long while without having to pour another to keep up.

I offer you this quickie cocktail recipe in lieu of the beef-barley soup recipe you would have gotten today had things gone as planned. I know that a quick drink recipe is a poor substitute for a delicious fully homemade beef-barley soup recipe, but the result is just as flashy, and a lot less work on my part while I recover from my injury (I’m pleading “the foot“).

Ingredients:

Cast of Characters

Limoncello Cocktail: Cast of Characters

1 part Limoncello,

Ice,

1 part cranberry juice,

And about 2 parts soda water.

Optional Garnish (looks nice in a punch-bowl or pitcher): any citrus fruit slices – lemon, lime, orange – leave the peel on.

I’m sure you’ve all noticed that that Limoncello bottle is almost empty. That’s how good it is. I serve this cocktail with appetizers any time I have guests for dinner and it is always a big hit. More importantly I hope my dear sister-in-law in Maryland, who should be reading this, notices how empty that bottle is (not so subtle hint-hint)!

Method:

Mix all ingredients together, serve.

I know that may be too complicated for you but try to follow along. Once more:

Mix Limoncello and ice in appropriate receptacle.....

Method: Mix Limoncello and ice in appropriate receptacle.....

Start with a glass (for one serving) a pitcher (for when your 401k bottoms out) or a punch-bowl (for when the end is nigh).  As you can see here, my 401k has bottomed out.

Add Limoncello.

Add Ice.

This is where it may get dicey so watch closely…..

Add cranberry juice to Limoncello and ice mixture....

Add cranberry juice to Limoncello and ice mixture....

Add Cranberry Juice

Just look at that color!

And now for the grand finale…..

Add soda and citrus slice garnish to Limoncello, ice and cranberry juice mixture....

Add soda and citrus slice garnish to Limoncello, ice and cranberry juice mixture....

Add soda and citrus slice garnish to the mixture and stir.

Taste, and adjust to your liking.  Then, keep tasting.

Ooops.......(*burp*)!

Ooops.......(*burp*)!

Until the glass/pitcher/bowl is empty.

Now that you know how to make it, you can make more!

Enjoy, but please hide your car keys before you play with this stuff. It tastes harmless, goes down like spring-water, and packs one heck of a whallop.

And I need you back here tomorrow for my next post (after I recover from sampling the recipe….)

