I’m caught a bit short, the next few posts I have planned need a ton more work between uploading, downloading, photo editing, and let’s not forget actual writing – but I’m being relentlessly hounded by a few readers – and you know who you are – to post something RIGHT NOW (jeez, get a life!) so I thought I would oblige because I’ll do almost anything for my dear loyal readers (read: will pander shamelessly at the least provocation).

One of the (many, many) things I love about Maine are the colors. They are never static. Every time you look outside, the view changes. There is always something new and the colors are constantly changing. I swear I feel like I stole something every time I look out the window because how can it be that the whole world isn’t beating a path to this door? Or am I the only one that sees these things?

This post is almost like cheating because I’m letting Maine do the work for me.

'Shrooms!!!

'Shrooms!!!

These were new last fall – they weren’t there the previous fall. I had never seen mushrooms quite this color – not shown to it’s best advantage (the color), but such a bright, almost fluorescent orange that I had to run and get the camera. These appeared only in this spot. Maybe there’s something special about the rotting host tree, I don’t know.

The Bushes in Fall

The Bushes in Fall

This bush is one of two just outside my living room windows at the front of the house. I have no idea what they are called but the leaves turn bright fuchsia every fall, and when the leaves finally fall off small red berries develop that cling to the bush until spring. Perhaps one of you could enlighten me.

Little red berries.....

Little red berries.....

I am fascinated by these bushes. When I bought the house it was summer and the bushes looked a little silly and forlorn sitting under the windows with no other surrounding landscaping except the lawn. They are twiggy at the bottom and not very attractive, or so I thought.

Meanwhile I now have more pictures of these bushes than any other single object, living or dead. I cannot stop snapping away. Because in winter, other things happen and they are beautiful all the time. Except summer, when they are nondescript – and were almost ripped out as the first “improvement” I was going to make to the house’s “curb appeal.” Thank goodness, in this case, for procrastination. Because once I saw what happens in the fall – well, they’re still there, modeling for my camera through the seasons. Except summer.

All covered in snow...

All covered in snow...

Did I mention that these bushes fascinate me? My biggest disappointment this year was that I could not for the life of me take a decent shot of these bushes after the ice storm when every single twig and each berry was completely coated with ice, making it shimmer like diamonds.

I guess if that’s my biggest disappointment I don’t have much to complain about, huh?

