During a trip to the Whole Foods in Portland the day before this year’s Super Bowl, I found they were hosting what amounted to a rollicking party, buffet style.  

Taking advantage of the uniquely American tradition of stuffing your face with finger food while watching the grandaddy of all football games, Whole Foods was featuring Super Bowl party fare – New England Style. That is to say, not New England style foods, but foods made or grown in Maine.

We may think of a lot of things when we think “Maine” (like “snow”), but I’m betting “salsa” is not one of them. Well, guess again. I was truly amazed at the selection of locally made salsas – and after having lived in Southern California for 25 years, I like to think that I know a little something about good salsa. Well, this selection blew my socks off.

I thought I might make a regular feature showcasing local foods, and you can consider this the first of many such posts.

Here is the best of what I found at Whole Foods that day:

Roy Guzman of Guzman's Gourmet Salsa

Roy Guzman of Guzman's Gourmet Salsa

This is Roy of Guzman’s Gourmet Salsa. I ate enough for a whole first quarter at this one table alone. They have enough flavors to start their own Salsa Supermarket. Flavors like Tequila Lime and Mango Tango and Black Bean Corn, which you would expect in a salsa and most likely have seen before, but Guzman’s takes that extra step and has flavors like Tropical Passion, Blueberry and Cranapple. All fresh tasting and truly divine. I was loathe to leave, plus Roy was a nice guy and didn’t mind feeding my endless pit of a stomach. Hi Roy! Guzman’s has a whole line of foods made right here in Maine, check out the link above.

 

John Farnsworth of Tiger Teeth Pepper
John Farnsworth of Tiger Teeth Pepper

Meet John from Tiger Teeth Pepper. See that hat he’s wearing? That’s not because he’s a chef. It’s because the top of his head has been blown clean off by the Fiery Habanero Salsa he makes. Boy that stuff had a kick! I adore spicy but am not one of those people that lives by “the hotter the better,” to me flavor is very important. Heat alone just doesn’t cut it. This stuff is sublime. Not only is it spicy but you can really taste the pepper flavor. Delicious. John is homegrown, and his salsa is produced right here in Maine too.

 

Pam Granese of Pam's Black Bean Salsa

Pam Granese of Pam's Black Bean Salsa

This is Pam, of Pam’s Black Bean Salsa. This stuff was awesome and I don’t even like beans!! You can really taste the “fresh.” Let me interject here and inform you that my cellphone was doubling as an inferior camera that day so you (and Pam) will have to forgive the glaring, well, glare, right smack dab in the center of her logo sign… Pam is a nice lady too and I know she will forgive me. Pam’s isn’t Maine produced – she’s from a bit further south in some state we don’t like to mention. But it is still New England, and she helps prove that the western states don’t have a lock on salsa!

 

So with all these salsas, we really need some chips. I found these while meandering through the market that day:

Fox Family Potato Chips

Fox Family Potato Chips

How about that? The only Maine made potato chip. These were yummy. Very crispy and fresh tasting, more substantial than your regular chip (strong enough to dip) but not as thick as some kettle chips. The result is crunchy and light, very tasty but not too salty. De-licious. It’s really hard to believe that they have no cholesterol, no trans-fat and no preservatives as advertised on the label – they are that good.

Not everything I tried that day was delicious. Some stuff was OK, but wasn’t worth writing about and I wouldn’t waste your time or mine. But these foods were truly special – check out the links for complete product lines and information on where to find them near you.

Did your team win on Super Bowl Sunday? Mine sure did – Team FOOD that is.

